Sailing to Chicago

Hmmm, this would be a better way in which to travel to the monastery.

Hmmm, this would be a better way in which to travel to the monastery.

(Chicago, Illinois) On the second Sunday of each and every month, I sail off to Chicago for Mass at the Monastery of the Holy Cross at 3111 S. Aberdeen Street, followed by an Oblate meeting with one of the Benedictine Monks of Chicago.  Yes, I am one of those Oblates of Saint Benedict who happily journeys to Bridgeport to be enlightened in Benedictine spirituality (please turn to my page of that same title for much more on the subject).  But for the present discussion, I want to share my monthly journey with you.  When faced with inclement weather I entrust my travels to the South Shore Railroad, the CTA, and a good pair of walking shoes.  But this time of year, I willingly drive from deep in the dunes on Dune Road in Harbert, Michigan to the heart of Bridgeport at 31st and Aberdeen.  Now, I am sure you are supposing that I take the roads more traveled.  No, I am a blue highway kind of guy, so I only take I-94 from exit 6 in Michigan to the Chesterton exit in Indiana, and then it’s all a garden of earthly delights from there.  And, after attending Vespers with Adoration with the Monks on Sunday evening, I reverse the ride for a leisurely drive home along the roads less traveled.  Allow me to illustrate:

This is as much of the dreaded and vastly over-priced Chicago Skyway as I want to see.

This is as much of the dreaded and vastly over-priced Chicago Skyway as I want to see.

My leisurely pace always allows for a bit of trainspotting, while stopped, of course.

My leisurely pace always allows for a bit of trainspotting, while stopped, of course.

When I was a little boy the South Shore Cultural Center was the South Shore Country Club.  We weren't members, so I am glad to see I am welcome there now.

When I was a little boy the South Shore Cultural Center was the South Shore Country Club. We weren’t members, so I am glad to see I am welcome there now.

The magnificent Museum of Science & Industry was as much a part of my chlldhood in South Shore as air and water.

The magnificent Museum of Science & Industry was as much a part of my childhood in South Shore as air and water.

Destination ahead: the Monastery of the Holy Cross at 3111 S. Aberdeen St., Chicago, IL 60608-6503.  Tel. (773) 927 7424.  P.S. They have a wonderful B&B with bountiful breakfasts.

Destination ahead: the Monastery of the Holy Cross at 3111 S. Aberdeen St., Chicago, IL 60608-6503. Tel. (773) 927 7424. P.S. They have a wonderful B&B with bountiful breakfasts.

 

About charleymckelvy

Charles McKelvy lives and writes in southwest Michigan with his wife and fellow writer, Natalie McKelvy. They established the Dunery Press in 1988 in order to publish their own fiction. They continue to do so to this day. Charles McKelvy is an Eagle Scout.
This entry was posted in Benedictines, Catholic Church, Chicago, Monastery of the Holy Cross and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

