A “Haunting” Experience in the Red Barn

IMG_9632(Harbert, Michigan) I made a play date recently with Ellen Elrick to perform some pieces from a book of duets for flute and clarinet.  Ellen, of course, is a master flautist and teacher, and I am but a humble student of the clarinet.  She nonetheless accepted, and she gave me a master class in our Red Barn a few weeks back. Then, when we were finished, I told her I’d like to play a solo work from the book my teacher, Jason Gresl, ordered for me: Cool School by Chris Gumbley.  When the book came all the way from London, I fell instantly in love with Gumbley’s haunting piece, appropriately titled, Haunting.  And so I played it for Ellen that day at the Red Barn, and so she said: “Why don’t you play that for the Variety Show?”  She was directing said Variety Show on Saturday, July 30, 2016, and so I could not say no. And so, despite a serious case of stage fright, I took the stage at the Red Barn Saturday night and played Haunting, standing up no less. Jason said it would be good for me to perform in public, and it was.  But it was even better watching the rest of the amazing Variety Show Ellen and her assistants and amazing cast put together for us in the Red Barn.

Natalie turned the table and got me in front of the camera for a change.  There I was, live and standing at the Red Barn Saturday night.

Natalie turned the table and got me in front of the camera for a change. There I was, live and standing at the Red Barn Saturday night.

 

About charleymckelvy

Charles McKelvy lives and writes in southwest Michigan with his wife and fellow writer, Natalie McKelvy. They established the Dunery Press in 1988 in order to publish their own fiction. They continue to do so to this day. Charles McKelvy is an Eagle Scout.
This entry was posted in clarinet, jazz, music, Prairie Club and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A “Haunting” Experience in the Red Barn

  1. Linda says:

    I can almost hear it from here! Wish I could’ve been there to hear you play.

  2. Dixie Burkhart says:

    I want video! Congratulations, I know how very hard that is!

    • Sorry, We didn’t get our act together, so no video. But I will gladly give you a live performance next time we meet. Oh, and I am going to learn “Black Bird Singing in the Dead of Night” by the Beatles and play that for you too.

Leave a Reply

