Chicago’s Landmark Fisher Building

img_9953(Chicago, Illinois) My friend and fellow Boy Scout, Kevin Quigley, noted when I posted a story on Detroit’s famous Fisher Building, that it was time I gave Chicago’s equally famous Fisher Building its due.  So, Kevin, here are some photos I took during our recent trip to the Windy City of the neo-Gothic landmark building at 343 South Dearborn Street, in the Chicago Loop.  According to Wikipedia, The 20-story building was commissioned by paper magnate Lucius Fisher, and was completed in 1896 by D.H. Burnham & Company.  A later addition was added in 1907.  At the time of its completion, the Fisher Building was one of two buildings in Chicago that was 18 stories tall, the other being the Masonic Building.  To this day, the Fisher Building is the oldest 18-story building in Chicago that has not been demolished.  Though a project of D.H. Burnham & Company, the original structure was designed by Charles Atwood.  The Fisher Building features terra-cotta carvings of various aquatic creatures including fish and crabs.  In addition, there are eagles, dragons and mythical creatures depicted on the facade as well.  Currently owned and managed by Village Green Management Company, the Fisher Building houses apartments on floors 3-20 and commercial stores on the first and second floors.  The Fisher Building was designated a Chicago Landmark on June 7, 1978 and was added to the National Register of Historic Register of Historic Places on March 16, 1976.  We’ll be taking another appreciative look at the Fisher Building before attending a concert by the Chicago Symphony Orchestra on Friday and hope to see you admiring the Fisher Building of Chicago.

img_0775

The Fisher Building (right) and the Old Colony Building (left) are separated by Chicago's famous Loop elevated tracks.

The Fisher Building (right) and the Old Colony Building (left) are separated by Chicago’s famous Loop elevated tracks.

img_0776

img_1172

 

About charleymckelvy

Charles McKelvy lives and writes in southwest Michigan with his wife and fellow writer, Natalie McKelvy. They established the Dunery Press in 1988 in order to publish their own fiction. They continue to do so to this day. Charles McKelvy is an Eagle Scout.
This entry was posted in Chicago, Chicago Symphony Orchestra and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Chicago’s Landmark Fisher Building

  1. kquigs says:

    Hi Charley. I left you a comment when I first saw this post but I guess it did not stick. Wonderful article. It brings back great memories. My father managed the Fisher building for many years and I worked there from the time I was 15 until I left for Europe when I was 21. Many good times and memories were made at the Fisher Building.

    • I remember when your father managed the Fisher Building and only wished I had asked for a tour. I got some good shots Friday and will post them soon. I like the Fisher Building more every time I look at it. I always see something new. It is a national treasure.

  2. Larry Deering says:

    Hi Charley . Nice article about a beautiful building . My brother worked there and many who grew up with Kevin Quigley have very fond memories there . Thank you

Leave a Reply

