Winter Walker

Walking the beach with my new Winter Walkers was a blast.

Walking the beach with my new Winter Walkers was a blast.

(Harbert, Michigan) We bought snow tires for our car, a full-house generator and metal roof for our house, and, at long last, snowshoes for our feet.  We purchased the latter from L.L. Bean and took delivery about three weeks ago.  We broke them out of the boxes, fitted them to our feet, and then waited for some real snow.  Well, it began arriving last night, and has continued all day Sunday. So much so, that we canceled nearly all driving plans for the day.  In fact, Natalie said:  “Why don’t you stay home and try out your new snowshoes and report back?”  Good idea.  So I strapped on my Winter Walker snowshoes from L.L. Bean and headed up Dune Road.  Oops.  I hadn’t gotten the toe straps tight enough.  I returned to the shop for Natalie’s roadside repair.  “You have to get all the straps really right,” she said, showing me just how to tighten all the straps.  Then, when both snowshoes were clinging to my boots for dear life, I headed off for a winter walk.  I got the hang of it in no time flat, and, in no time flat, I found myself at the foot of our precipitous beach path, ready to climb over the dune and go for a bracing walk on the beach, on frickin’ December 11, 2016 no less.  Oh, I walked the beach and up the dog path and through the dune country and out to Prairie Road and up Ravine Road and finally landed back at home where I told Natalie that we should have bought snowshoes many winters back, because—my words—not hers: “THEY ARE A TOTAL BLAST!!!!!”  Expect more reports from wherever our Winter Walkers take us this winter and enjoy the photos I took during my winter walk today with my new Winter Walkers.

img_1626

img_1637

img_1610

img_1644

img_1647

More to come.  Stay tuned.

More to come. Stay tuned.

 

About charleymckelvy

Charles McKelvy lives and writes in southwest Michigan with his wife and fellow writer, Natalie McKelvy. They established the Dunery Press in 1988 in order to publish their own fiction. They continue to do so to this day. Charles McKelvy is an Eagle Scout.
This entry was posted in Michigan, winter and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

