Having Had a Spiritual Awakening . . .

X marks the spot.

X marks the spot.

(December 18, 2005) I was out for my Sunday run before Mass.  I was heading east along Youngren Road here in Harbert, Michigan watching the sky redden in the east. And then it hit me—literally hit me—I was powerless over alcohol, and it had totally made my life unmanageable.  I stopped in my tracks, held up hands and said: “God, I surrender.  I’m beat. Done.  It’s over.”  And then, and I’m not making this up, a finger came down from heaven, poked me in the ass and a voice (in my head) said:  “You know what to do.  Exactly what to do.”  And I did, and I did it.  And, as a result of these steps, I did have a spiritual awakening, and, ever since, I have been trying to carry this message to alcoholics and trying to practice these principles in all my affairs.  Sadly, I must dedicate this post to Russ W. who succumbed to a heart attack this morning, December 18, 2016, while shoveling snow in Sawyer, Michigan.

About charleymckelvy

Charles McKelvy lives and writes in southwest Michigan with his wife and fellow writer, Natalie McKelvy. They established the Dunery Press in 1988 in order to publish their own fiction. They continue to do so to this day. Charles McKelvy is an Eagle Scout.
This entry was posted in addiction, alcoholism, Spiritual Progress and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Having Had a Spiritual Awakening . . .

  1. Rob Spiegel says:

    Thanks for your beautiful story. Congrats on reaching 11 years. Sorry to hear about Russ.

  2. Sally Carpenter says:

    So sorry to hear of the passing of your friend. May he rest in peace.
    Sally

Leave a Reply

