The Gift of Music

Hamel Hall at Andrews University in Berrien Springs, Michigan is where I take my music lessons from Jason Gresl.

Hamel Hall at Andrews University in Berrien Springs, Michigan is where I take my music lessons from Jason Gresl.

(New Buffalo, Michigan) My friend and fellow musician/music-lover John Victor Greenwich passed away on Wednesday, December 14, 2016.  John was 61, and for more than 18 years, he sang with the choirs at Saint Mary of the Lake in New Buffalo and Saint Agnes in Sawyer.  I sang with John at the latter and became his friend and prayer partner in a Friday morning breakfast fellowship that continues to this day.  John and I also shared a keen interest in cycling, even when John’s various disabilities prevented him from riding.  He always wanted to know what I was riding and where I was riding and encouraged me on my way, even though his way was blocked by his failing body. But his spirit never failed, and he was an inspiration to us all, and, oh, how the combined choirs sang for John at the Mass of Christian Burial for him that took place on Thursday, December 22, 2016 at Saint Mary of the Lake. Thank you John for your friendship and inspiration and especially for sharing your musical talents and love of music. And thank you so much for encouraging me on my voyage of discovery with the clarinet.  And so I would like to close with this photograph Natalie took of your son Isaac and me giving you a Christmas concert at your home in 2013.  Merry Christmas, dear friend.

A Christmas concert for John Grynwich featuring Isaac Greenwich (right) on the baritone and yours truly on the licorice stick.  John said we nailed it.

A Christmas concert for John Grynwich featuring Isaac Greenwich (right) on the baritone and yours truly on the licorice stick. John said we nailed it.

About charleymckelvy

Charles McKelvy lives and writes in southwest Michigan with his wife and fellow writer, Natalie McKelvy. They established the Dunery Press in 1988 in order to publish their own fiction. They continue to do so to this day. Charles McKelvy is an Eagle Scout.
This entry was posted in Christianity, Christmas, clarinet, Jason Gresl, music and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

