Travels with Charley: Training Day

My faithful South Shore train heads to the end of the run at Millennium Station.

My faithful South Shore train heads to the end of the run at Millennium Station.

(January 15, 2017) Any day with a train ride is a good day, but a day with four trains rides?  Why, that’s a great day, and the Ides of January was made all the more memorable because I rode the South Shore from Carroll Avenue in Michigan City, Indiana to the Museum Campus stop at 11th Street in Chicago.  Then I walked over to the CTA station at Roosevelt and caught an Orange Line train to Halsted.  From there I walked about a mile (maybe less) to the Monastery of the Holy Cross at 31st and Aberdeen for Mass and a meeting with some monks. Then I hoofed back to the Halsted stop to catch an Orange Line train back to the Loop for lunch, and, as I was waiting for an inbound Orange Liner, what should appear before my wondering eyes on the adjacent tracks but Amtrak’s inbound train 302, Lincoln Service, from Saint Louis.  Have camera, will snap, and snap I did.  Then I enjoyed a brisk and brilliantly scenic ride back to the Loop on an Orange Line train.  I dined in style at Native Foods Café on Clark Street, saw both sides of the abortion debate at Adams and Dearborn (more on that later), and then hoofed back to Millennium Station at Randolph just in time to catch the 1:35 p.m. for a refreshing ride back to Michigan City in living color.  And, yes, the monks at the monastery remarked that I had come all the way from Michigan, but I told them that I had made the trip all the more pleasurable by building it around four train rides.  And then, of course, there was that bonus Amtrak sighting at Halsted.  A blessed day was had by yours truly.  Thank you very much.  Now here are some photos for your trains file.

Here comes Amtrak train 302, and . . .

Here comes Amtrak train 302, and . . .

. . . there goes Amtrak train 302 toward its final station stop at Chicago Union Station, or CUS.

. . . there goes Amtrak train 302 toward its final station stop at Chicago Union Station, or CUS.

Left in the Loop at the Harold Washington Library stop to while the day away.

Left in the Loop at the Harold Washington Library stop to while the day away.

Postcard of my trip from the Chicago Loop.

Postcard of my trip, from the Chicago Loop.

About charleymckelvy

Charles McKelvy lives and writes in southwest Michigan with his wife and fellow writer, Natalie McKelvy. They established the Dunery Press in 1988 in order to publish their own fiction. They continue to do so to this day. Charles McKelvy is an Eagle Scout.
This entry was posted in Amtrak, Chicago, Michigan, railroad photographs and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

