Divided We Stand

Opposing sides of the abortion debate faced off in Chicago on January 15, 2017.  No, we cannot always agree, even today with a new president.

Opposing sides of the abortion debate faced off in Chicago on January 15, 2017. No, we cannot always agree, especially on Inauguration Day.

DIVISION STREET

One viewer’s opinion

by Charles McKelvy

(January 20, 2017) I am writing this with my July 4, 1776 fountain pen from Retro 51 as I watch the Presidential Inauguration of Donald J. Trump. I have many friends who are furiously refusing to watch this peaceful transition of power from the 44th President of the United States of America to the 45th President of the United States of America. They are wearing black in opposition, and many of them will be marching on January 21, 2017 to protest against the election of Donald J. Trump. I also have many friends who are happily watching this most American of American ceremonies with pleasure and pride. The point being, as FRONTLINE demonstrated in their excellent two-part series this week, we are the Divided States of America. But, as the great-grandson of a Union Army surgeon, I say: so what else is new?

We can’t all get along, all the time.

And the election of 2016 certainly proved that.

But here we are on Inauguration Day, January 20, 2017, watching, or not watching, as Barak H. Obama yields to Donald J. Trump.

If the "P" is for "Presidential," let's hope the Donald can find his.

If the “P” is for “Presidential,” let’s hope the Donald can find his.

We stand on opposite sides of that proverbial Division Street and shake our signs at one another.

We beg to differ.

Well, we bark to differ.

We can’t all get along, all the time.

One side of the abortion debate, and . . .

One side of the abortion debate, and . . .

. . . the other.  I view the issue as a former embryo.

. . . the other. I view the issue as a former embryo.

And yet there stands Hillary Clinton on the platform. She suited up and showed up and even Tweeted in defense of our democracy, despite her bitter defeat last November.

And although I voted for neither Trump nor Clinton for President of the United States of America, I showed up in my living room on Inauguration Day to watch this most American of American ceremonies.

Yes, I was moved, and yes, my faith in our democracy was revitalized.

But am I worried about what tomorrow will bring now that we have had this about-face?

Or next week?

Or during the first 30 days of President Trump?

Fear is false expectations about reality.

I don’t know what tomorrow will bring because it’s not here.

What is here is today.

This moment.

This reality.

And for that I am grateful, because I am alive and of sound mind to accept it.

And, yes, WGN television did a superb of covering this historic event.

###

About charleymckelvy

Charles McKelvy lives and writes in southwest Michigan with his wife and fellow writer, Natalie McKelvy. They established the Dunery Press in 1988 in order to publish their own fiction. They continue to do so to this day. Charles McKelvy is an Eagle Scout.
This entry was posted in Donald Trump, President Trump and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Divided We Stand

  1. It’s an amazing thing to watch the peaceful transition of power from President to President. It’s something I love about our country.
    I’m also glad that the protests were mostly peaceful.

  2. A peaceful protest… Well penned Mr. Charley 👍
    I hope you like my blog http://wp.me/p8g2rs-31

  3. Thankfully, it’s not over yet.

Leave a Reply

