God’s Waiting Room

                                                              Copyright 2017 Charles McKelvy

 

Lucky Chucky

A play in one-act

by Charles McKelvy

I'll be climbing this "stairway to heaven" tomorrow morning w

 

The Players:

  1. Doorkeeper
  2. Impatient Patient

 

The Place:

The Waiting Room

 

The Play is the thing and here is the thing at lights up:

 

Doorkeeper: (comes out of door, says each name in turn, goes back in and repeats)

“Kathy?”

“Oliver?”

“Mr. Rhodes?”

“Susan?”

“Khalid?”

“Mrs. Olivetti?”

“Rabbi Lowenstein?”

“Mullah Nasruddin?”

“Gray Wolf?”

“Dizzy?”

“Mrs. Osborne?”

“Father Martin?”

“Biff?”

“Kip?”

“Zip?”

“The Artist Formerly Known as Lip?”

“Brian?”

“Billy?”

Impatient Patient: “STOP!!!”

Doorkeeper: “Excuse me?!?”

Impatient Patient: “Stop stepping out here and calling out names that are not my name.”

Doorkeeper: “Do you have an appointment?”

Impatient Patient: “No.”

Doorkeeper: “Are you with someone who has an appointment?”

Impatient Patient: “No.”

Doorkeeper: “Are you waiting for someone who has an appointment?”

Impatient Patient: “No.”

Doorkeeper: “Then why are you here?”

Impatient Patient: “In this waiting room?”

Doorkeeper: “Yes, in this waiting room.”

Impatient Patient: “I, ah—“

Doorkeeper: “You don’t have any business in this waiting room, do you?”

Impatient Patient: (looks at the rows of chairs and racks of well-thumbed magazines and shrugs.) “Well, I might as well be in this waiting room as any other.”

Doorkeeper: “Why?”

Impatient Patient: “Why not?”

Doorkeeper: “Well, what are you waiting for?”

Impatient Patient: “What are we all waiting for?”

Doorkeeper: “Exactly.”

Impatient Patient: “So—“

Doorkeeper: “So, I’ll call your name when your time is up.”

Impatient Patient: “That’s mighty angelic of you.”

Doorkeeper: “It’s my nature. To be angelic that is.”

Impatient Patient: “Yeah, I pegged you from the git-go. Well, if it’s all the same to you, I’ll just make myself comfy and—“

Doorkeeper: “Wait. We just happen to have an unscheduled opening. You’re in luck, Chuck.”

Impatient Patient: “That’s what they called me in high school. I hated it. Now my friends call me Chucky.”

Doorkeeper: Well, aren’t you lucky, Chucky, because we have an opening right now.”

Impatient Patient: “Right now?!?”

Doorkeeper: “Right now!!!!”

Impatient Patient: “But I’m not ready right now! I want to wait a bit. Contemplate my navel and do my nails. You know? But I want you to stop calling out names that are not my name.”

Doorkeeper: But I’ve already called all the names that are not your name, you lucky Chucky. They’ve all gone through. Now you’re the only one left in the waiting room, and we have an unscheduled opening for one lucky little Chucky. So now it’s you’re turn, Chucky. Ready or not, in you go.”

Impatient Patient: (sighs, stands and shuffles feet) “All right, but go back out and come back in and call my name. Just like you called all the other names.”

Doorkeeper: “Very well.” (go back out and comes back in) “Lucky Chucky.”

Impatient Patient: “He’s not here.”

Doorkeeper: “Chucky, don’t get stucky. Come out, wherever you are.”

Impatient Patient: “Chucky left. He’s not here.”

Doorkeeper: “Chucky!”

Impatient Patient: “All right, already. I lied. He’s here. I’m here. What do you want with me?”

Doorkeeper: “I want you to come with me.”

Impatient Patient: “Where?!?”

Doorkeeper: Through the door, of course.

Impatient Patient: “That door?”

Doorkeeper: “That door! Yes. Come along. I’ll walk you through, Lucky Chucky.”

Impatient Patient: “All right. But may I bring a magazine?”

Doorkeeper: “You won’t need a magazine where you’re going. Trust me.”

Impatient patient: “All right. I trust you when you say I won’t need a magazine. But I do have one big worry.”

Doorkeeper: “And what, pray tell, might that be?”

Impatient Patient: “Will I be bored?”

Doorkeeper: (smiles and opens door a peek) “Do you see what I see?”

Impatient Patient: (peeks in) “Oh, yeah, baby! I’m ready. Am I ever! No more magazines. No more waiting.”

Doorkeeper: (opens door and bids him enter) “Good. And away you go, Lucky Chucky.”

 

(Doorkeeper leads Impatient Patient through door and closes it behind them.)

 

Play ends.

 

Fade to black.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About charleymckelvy

Charles McKelvy lives and writes in southwest Michigan with his wife and fellow writer, Natalie McKelvy. They established the Dunery Press in 1988 in order to publish their own fiction. They continue to do so to this day. Charles McKelvy is an Eagle Scout.
This entry was posted in Christianity, Flash Fiction, God, grief and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

