Lenten Retreat

(Niles, Michigan) My friend Gary Gorka and I did not have to advance far to retreat this Lent.  In fact, we got Lent off to a serene start on March 2 by attending the first of a four-day Lenten Retreat at Saint Mark Parish with Archabbot Lambert Reilly, OSB.  I told Gary that we absolutely had to go hear Archabbot Lambert because I knew him to be a holy man at Saint Meinrad Archabbey where I attended many a retreat.  So we went, and I even went back for night two, on March 3, when I heard Archabbot say that if you follow Jesus, when you die all you have to do is knock on the door to heaven and say: “Let me in and make room for me.”  I took the Archabbot’s words to heart, and I will hopefully take them with me long after these 40 days are over.  I will also take the warm-hearted hospitality of the parishioners of Saint Mark with me as well. Saint Benedict said we should receive all visitors as Christ, and those good folks at Saint Mark certainly received Gary and me as Christ. That worked wonders for us, and I know any kind of Lenten Retreat you can make this year will work for you.  Peace be with you.

About charleymckelvy

Charles McKelvy lives and writes in southwest Michigan with his wife and fellow writer, Natalie McKelvy. They established the Dunery Press in 1988 in order to publish their own fiction. They continue to do so to this day. Charles McKelvy is an Eagle Scout.
This entry was posted in Benedictines, Lent and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

