Yoga Mats Matter

I am going to make Natalie my yoga sponsor.

(Harbert, Michigan) I returned from a restful, relaxing, restorative, and really terrific Saint Patrick’s Weekend Retreat Sunday to find my dear wife Natalie rolling out her yoga mat and cranking up her Rodney Yee’s YOGA for Beginners DVD and increasing her flexibility, endurance, and strength.  Not to mention properly aligning her posture, centering her breathing and just generally making her better than she already is, and she already is totally amazing. So, Natalie invited me to roll out my own mat and join her, but I demurred, saying I was in good enough spiritual space at the moment.  Actually, it would have done me a world of good to join Natalie for 20 minutes of yoga Sunday night after returning from a retreat that focused more on the mind and spirit than the body.  But I was too pooped to salute the sun and cop a cobra position or two, so I went to bed. But last night when Natalie rolled out her mat and cranked up Rodney Yee and his colleague Colleen Saidman on the telly, I told her: “Pause it.  I want to join you.” And join Natalie and Rodney and Colleen I did. And I am better for it.  More limber.  More centered.  More resolved to get back on the mat again and use yoga to ease the slide into old age.  Learn more at: http://life.gaiam.com.  Now, I must simply say: Namaste.

About charleymckelvy

Charles McKelvy lives and writes in southwest Michigan with his wife and fellow writer, Natalie McKelvy. They established the Dunery Press in 1988 in order to publish their own fiction. They continue to do so to this day. Charles McKelvy is an Eagle Scout.
This entry was posted in Harbert, Lent, yoga and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Yoga Mats Matter

  1. I love doing yoga. I used to do every week.

Leave a Reply

