Travels with Charley: the Englewood flyover and other adventures

Metra delivers the goods at the end of the work week at 99th Street on the old Rock Island Suburban Line.

(Chicago, Illinois) When I recently booked three activities in Chicago back-to-back over a three-day period, Natalie suggested I stay with my sister in the Beverly neighborhood on the South Side and, as she said: “ride 10 trains in three days.” Well, as a result of my inability to decipher the Metra Rock Island District Sunday schedule, I rode 8 trains in 3 days, but let me tell you: I enjoyed each and every one of those rides, beginning with the South Shore from Michigan City to Chicago to see the Chicago Symphony Orchestra on Friday and continuing with Metra and the CTA Red and Brown lines on Saturday to attend the Chicago Clarinet Symposium, and the CTA Red line and South Shore on Sunday to head home for the old ballgame.  The big thrill for this rail fan was flying over the Englewood flyover for the first time.  I had been hankering for just that experience since September 9, 2014 when the Amtrak train I was riding to Chicago from Michigan was delayed by photographers seeking to get publicity shots of the massive new grade separation. Irony of ironies, right?  Well, I certainly enjoyed flying over the flyover on a Friday rush-hour train bound for Beverly, and I likewise liked my Saturday morning flyover when I was heading downtown to catch a CTA train to the far north side to attend the Chicago Clarinet Symposium.  Oh, I was a busy boy, and, despite the snafu I created for myself Sunday morning by not reading the schedule properly, I was one pleased railroad passenger during my three-day adventure in Chicago.  I will do it again, but I will pay closer attention to the Metra Sunday schedule next time.  And now, the video of the Englewood flyover as seen from Metra train 617:

About charleymckelvy

Charles McKelvy lives and writes in southwest Michigan with his wife and fellow writer, Natalie McKelvy. They established the Dunery Press in 1988 in order to publish their own fiction. They continue to do so to this day. Charles McKelvy is an Eagle Scout.
This entry was posted in Chicago, clarinet, Metra and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

