Piper Curry

We were piped out of the church on August 13, 1977 by Piper Bill Curry. I recall that he played “Mairi’s Wedding,” but I could be wrong.

(Evanston, Illinois) When our lovely wedding ceremony was concluded the afternoon of Saturday, August 13, 1977, we, the newlyweds, turned to face our congregated families and friends in the intimate Shakespeare Chapel of the First Methodist Church, and we could see that they were all wondering when the organist would accompany our graceful exit.  Nothing.  And then Piper Bill Curry stepped out of the alcove in full Highland Dress and piped us out of the church in true Scottish fashion. Ah, the looks of the faithful.  Grand, indeed.  I could feel the ancestors smiling down from the Highlands of Heaven.  I took my bonnie, wee lassie on my arm and walked as one out of the church and into a truly wonderful life that continues to this day.  As to how we found Piper Curry, well, let’s just say that I had a friend back in the early 1970s who played the pipes in the Stockyard Kilty Band, and I began going to practice with him on Friday nights to: a. listen to the pipes and drums, and b. have a wee dram or two after practice.  That’s where I first met Bill Curry, and the rest is history.  Oh, and Bill Curry was the clout I needed back in 1975 to be hired as a reporter at the legendary City News Bureau of Chicago.  Piper Curry piped me into journalism, and he piped me into wedded bliss. Slàinte mhòr!

About charleymckelvy

Charles McKelvy lives and writes in southwest Michigan with his wife and fellow writer, Natalie McKelvy. They established the Dunery Press in 1988 in order to publish their own fiction. They continue to do so to this day. Charles McKelvy is an Eagle Scout.
This entry was posted in Chicago, City News Bureau and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

